Guv thanks to those who managed Amarnath Yatra

Guv thanks to those who managed Amarnath Yatra

Calls for bringing continuous improvements based on experiences of Yatra-2013
Srinagar, Aug 23: Governor N N Vohra lauded the excellent synergy and very high level of coordination among the State Administration, Army, Security Forces, Police, Shrine Board and each of the State Government Departments, agencies and local stakeholders involved with the management of Shri Amarnathji Yatra-2013. He thanked one and all and the people at large for their valuable support for ensuring the smooth and peaceful conduct of this arduous pilgrimage. He also expressed his gratitude to Mian Altaf Ahmad, Minister for Forests and Environment, and Rafi Ahmad Mir, who are the Members of the State Legislative Assembly from Kangan and Pahalgam Constituencies, respectively, for their continuous support to the conduct of the Yatra. The Governor was addressing the Post-Yatra 2013 Review Meeting which was followed by a felicitation function at Raj Bhavan here today. The Governor observed that such a Review Meeting has been convened every year, for the past four years, immediately after the culmination of the Yatra, with a view to bringing about progressive improvements in the management of the coming Yatras, based on the experiences gained and feed back gathered. In this context, the Governor asked the Chief Executive Officer (CEO) to initiate action for Camp-wise and route-wise Action Plans being prepared on a time-limited basis, particularly covering the requirements of medicare, water and power supply, sanitation, environment protection, accommodation and all other facilities, as required for Yatra 2014. The Governor, who is Chairman of the Shri Amarnathji Shrine Board, presented mementos to the various agencies and officers as a token of the Board’s appreciation and thanks for their valuable support for smooth conduct of the current year’s Yatra. Speaking on the occasion, Mian Altaf Ahmad, Minister for Forests and Environment, complimented the Governor and the Shrine Board for the smooth conduct of Yatra 2013. He thanked the Governor, particularly for taking keen interest for ensuring the protection of environment and ecology of the Yatra area. He put forth several suggestions to secure further improvements in the management of the Yatra. He also suggested for bringing further improvements in the telecommunication facilities on both routes of the Yatra, particularly with a view to strengthening Disaster Management measures. Navin K. Choudhary, Chief Executive Officer of the Shrine Board, gave details of the various measures which were taken for providing required facilities for Yatra 2013. While thanking one and all for the very high level of coordination and the speed and promptitude with which all those involved with the conduct of the Yatra worked, he said that it was due to the excellent synergy that helped in management of the Yatra in a smooth manner. The issues which were reviewed during the meeting included: bringing further improvements in the existing system of Registration of Yatris and Assess Control measures at the Chandanwari and Domel Access Control Gates; functioning of Medical Aid Centres; sanitation arrangements at the various Camp locations; functioning of Langars and other services. Other issues that came under discussion included operation of helicopter services; services rendered by BSNL; Disaster Management arrangements; the services rendered by various other departments and agencies and the scope for improvements therein. Mr. Mohammad Iqbal Khandey, Chief Secretary; Lt. Gen. Gurmit Singh, GOC, 15 Corps; Mr. Ashok Prasad, Director General of Police; Mr. Vinod Ranjan, Chairman, Pollution Control Board; Mr. B. B. Vyas, Principal Secretary to the Chief Minister; Mr. Suresh Kumar, Principal Secretary, Home; Mr. D. K. Pathak, Special DG, CRPF, J&K; Mr. V. K. Singh, ADG, Security; Mr. Arun Kumar Mehta, Principal Secretary, Power Development; Mr. Atal Dulloo, Commissioner/Secretary, Tourism; Mr. A. K. Tikku, Secretary, Pollution Control Board; Dr. Pawan Kotwal, Commissioner/Secretary, PHE, Irrigation and Flood Control; Ms. Tanveer Jehan, Commissioner/Secretary, R&B; Mrs. Sarita Chauhan, Secretary, Animal and Sheep Husbandry; Mr. Shahid Anayatullah, Labour Commissioner; Mr. Zaffar Ahmad Bhat, Director Information; Mr. A. G. Mir, IGP, Kashmir; Maj. Gen. R. R. Nimbhorkar, GOC, Hqrs, Victor Force; Mr. P. K. Singh, IG, CRPF; Mr. G. A. Bhat, Director General, Fire and Emergency Services; Brig. Shode P. Manohar, Chief Signal Officer, 15 Corps; Brig. R. K. Sharma, Chief Engineer, Project Beacon; Mr. Vijay Kumar, DIG, Anantnag; Syed Afadul Mujtaba, DIG, Srinagar; Mr. Sarmad Hafeez, Deputy Commissioner, Ganderbal; Dr. Farooq Ahmad Lone, Deputy Commissioner, Anantnag; Prof. Showkat Ali Zargar, Director, SKIMS, Srinagar; Mr. Sonam Lotus, Director, Indian Meteorological Department, Srinagar; Mr. Shahid Mehraj, SP, Ganderbal; Mr. Preet Pal Singh, Additional Chief Executive Officer of the Board; Police Yatra Officers; Heads of Departments, Camp Directors, Additional Camp Directors, senior Civil, Army, Security Forces and Police officers were prominent among those who participated in the meeting.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: